{vintage slips}

May 4, 2011 § 2 Comments

Today was a teeny bit warmer, so I went with bare legs but still stuck with boots! The best part of this outfit was that I’m wearing not one but TWO vintage… um… slips?  I spent the day around the house; blogging, catching up on other blogs, researching the history of women’s undergarments… and I did a bit of sewing as well. Then tonight I taught a class (the Wrap Skirt) at Sewtropolis. After class I tried to have a bit of quality time with Mr. Bug, but our boorish basset hound thought we needed to spend more time rubbing her ears. Sigh.

purple half slip – gift from friend-Heather

white chemise – vintage, from B-Squad Vintage

white bow sweater – handmade, blogged here

argyle knee socks – Target – they were actual knee socks and come up pretty high on my thick calves!

boots – totally crazy find from Target – they are complete knockoffs of Frye harness boots, but they’re super comfy, all leather and were ELEVEN DOLLARS!! I think they were an online purchase return. Score!

belt – Torrid

cuffs – Avenue

necklace – gift from mom-bug

§ 2 Responses to {vintage slips}

  • Laura says:

    Seriously those Target knock off boots are the best finds ever, there’s another style out there that are a cross between brown and gray and even brand new they were a crazy steal being they were leather. I like to stalk the Target donations at the local Goodwills, because you can find great stuff like plus-size Liberty print shirts etc..

    I love the evolution of this outfit, and especially the additions of lilac and black. Although it was all the layers with the special touches on each (the lace neckline of the chemise with the bow of the sweater..sigh) that makes this outfit so stylish, I think it was the surprise of working black into it right down to your necklace that made it genius to me. My gut would have gone toward brown leather and ended up in a more drab result.

  • […] completely head over heels for Patty’s style. Please see this and this for […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading {vintage slips} at snugbug365.

meta

